Tips For Getting Your Ideas Heard

Posted on February 2, 2009. Filed under: advice, Communication, Kaneva Inc., Suggestions for Improvement | Tags: , , , , |

kanevaideas_logo

The Virtual World of Kaneva recently launched Kaneva Ideas.  This new page is being used to help Kaneva understand what their members want and according to Coreli, is seen by top Kaneva Management.  The technology behind it is IdeaScale which allows users to post their ideas for improvement and then other users are able to vote the idea up or down and leave comments (positive, negative, or adding to the suggestion).

I’ve recently spent some time checking out the new Kaneva Ideas page and have came up with a few suggestions for those submitting an idea.

1. Separate Ideas

If you have a whole list of things you would like to see added/improved/etc. don’t put them all in the same post.  If I like a few of your ideas but dislike most of them then I will end up voting down the entire thing.  This isn’t the government, don’t attach riders (I think that’s the correct term).

2. Spell Check

C’mon please make your idea make sense by using grammar and spell check… I can’t vote up your idea if I don’t understand it.  I get that English is a second language to a lot of Kaneva users, but some of the attempts at making a cohesive thought are just awful at best.  Spell check and grammar check before posting your idea PLEASE!

3. Title Bait

In the affiliate marketing/seo world there is a term known as “Link Bait” which means writing an article or creating a page that naturally attracts backlinks.  I need you to naturally attract my eyes to the title of your suggestion with Title Bait… If you are only using one word chances are I’m not going to read the rest of what you wrote (unless it is a powerful word that really stands out among the rest).  Also, if your title is misspelled there is a good chance that the rest of your idea won’t make any sense… therefore, why waist my time.

4. Market your idea

Don’t just stop with a post to Kaneva Ideas – Send out a blast with a link to your idea…. hell, pay for a highlighted blast… those really do work for grabbing attention.

5. Watch out for Bugs

This one is more of a tip for those voting… When I was voting on some ideas this morning I noticed that the system was a bit buggy… I would click to vote on something and it told me that I had already voted on it.  All I had to do was close the window and vote again.  Hopefully this bug will be resolved soon as it may affect the outcome of votes.

I would love to hear suggestions from the rest of you on how to get your idea noticed and voted up.  What do you like/dislike about the new system?  Let me know in the comments!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

