FUCK Is A Four Letter Word

Posted on December 1, 2008. Filed under: Uncategorized |

fuck

Words …… we use them for expressions, debate, comedy, convincing, and a range of other reasons.  I think one of the main reasons people argue or even just avoid each other on-line is because many have a hard time knowing how to communicate.

Communication via text is more then just the characters you type – it’s the tone in which they are delivered and the context in how they are taken….. and don’t forget about timing, timing is always important.

IF YOU TYPE IN ALL CAPS – this is taken as yelling (usually angry).  But, if you type in lowercase and add exclamation marks, it is taken as happy yelling!!!!!

There are also words that are often misused/overused that I like to refer to as “strong” words, words that are used to elicit some type of emotion.

Words like:

  • Fuck
  • Hate
  • Love
  • Die
  • Any type of slur

These words, when properly used in context with good timing are used to extract some type of emotion.  Some of these words are blocked by Kaneva (which I’m not happy about).  Some of them placed in a different context with a few other letters change the emotional response.

If you say “I fucking love you” you are using two strong words that usually bring about a positive emotional response.  The word “Fuck” by itself generally gives a negative feeling.  This is why the FCC won’t allow you to say “Fuck” on the radio, this is why people will look at you strange if you walk around saying “Fuck”, this is probably why Kaneva won’t allow you to send a Kmail to another adult (with AP) that has the word “Fuck” in it.

“Fuck” is also a word that is extremely overused – and as with most things that are overused, it looses it’s power overtime.

The use of words also vary between cultures – Wording something one way to one culture might make you a great speaker/writer.  That same sentence/paragraph/whatever in another culture might make you hated.

Most of us also tend to not know how to fully express ourselves to tell the whole story….. not just what happened, but the emotion behind your words…. how you were feeling when the event took place.

There’s also the flip side of this – some people don’t know how to listen… they know how to hear things, but listening takes concentration and contemplation.  This is probably why my written communication suffers when I try to multi-task.

HOMEWORK ASSIGNMENT: I would like my readers to use a “strong word”, whether it was one I listed or one that you feel is a “strong word” sometime within the week, but I want you to use the same word (or close variation) to bring about at least two types of emotional responses.  You can use them in a blast, in a conversation with friends (in Kaneva or in RL), in a blog post of your own, in a PM to me or your friends, or in the comments below…. if you use them outside of the comments on this page, please leave me a comment sharing how you used them.

**DO NOT GET YOURSELF BANNED FOR SAYING THE WRONG THING IN THE WRONG PLACE**

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

5 Responses to “FUCK Is A Four Letter Word”

RSS Feed for The Kanevian Blog Comments RSS Feed

I’m sorry Keith, but i will have to disagree on Kaneva allowing “fuck” to be used. Now AP on the other hand I agree with. If AP is for adults, why can’t we use those words. Good blog. I FUCKING LOVE YOU KEITH!!!!!(i used the all caps, but i’m not mad at you or meaning it to hurt you. so you are somewhat wrong on that note) 🙂 just me being a smartass.

OMG I USE CAPS ALL THE TIME AND YES THEY ALWAYS THINK I’M PISSED LOL!!!!

There is a user setting. “Language filter.” If it is on, dont allow any R-rated words. If the filter is off, fucking let me use any god-damn words i fuckin want, you worthless assholes! Don’t be dicks and edit me and dont be pussies and worry about other people’s kids. If i have AP, and you have AP, I should be able to send you the word fuck, ass, dick, anything I want! Uphold your own damn standards, Kaneva.

I FUCKING LOVE YOU KEITH!!! I’M FUCKING 4 CEREAL!!!!!!!!!

To quote the late great Frank Zappa…..

“There is no such thing as bad language, just bad usage”

& ANY CUNT THAT DISAGREES CAN JUST GO FUCK OFF & DIE.
And those same words in a more positive light…
I fucking love cunt & would just die for a bit right now!!!!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

