Can I Un-rave World Fame?

Posted on November 7, 2008. Filed under: advice, Business | Tags: , , , |

blastit

I think it’s safe to say that everyone reading this blog is familiar with the blast column of their Kaneva profile.  You know, that big list of profile pictures and words in the center of your “2D command center”.  I’m starting to notice a trend in this little column of projected reflections and ramblings – and the trend… well…. to be honest is pretty damn annoying.

“Can I please have another 3 raves”, “Please rave this for me”, “Rave”, “I can haz rave plz”.  Why is this becoming so common?  I mean, I get marketing – you have to tell people about whatever it is you are putting out there to get it noticed.  However, is the outright begging really that necessary?

Not to mention, a lot of the stuff that I am being pleaded with to rave over, and over, and over again – isn’t really that great (IMO).  Hooray for you – you took a screen cap and cropped it …. does that really deserve my praise?  I mean, that is what the whole raving feature is for – to tell someone easily “wow I dig what you did here” or “I think you’re the proverbial bees knees”.

I get what you are trying to do – increase your world fame….. to be honest, I was almost happier when world fame didn’t exist.  That’s right boys and girls – there was time when people didn’t beg you to go to their party or club or rave their media.  They asked (notice this word is different) you to check it out – not rave it, but just check it out, because at that time raves really didn’t mean anything other then what was stated in the previous paragraph.

Ok, Ok, I know what your saying – “But SFNdust, don’t you send out a blast every time you write a new post”… as a matter of fact – Yes, I do.  The difference here is I generally send out between 1 – 3 blasts over several days for one post.  And in none of those blasts do I beg people to rave, comment, or sell me their organs (the musical kind – the bloody ones are just too gross).  There is a proper way for you to market your “whatever” to people – begging, to me, is just so low brow.  If you do good quality work, it will eventually get noticed…. it may be a little more slow – but I’ve found that organic marketing eventually yields the same results and you DO NOT lose your target audience.

These borderline spammers really need to re-think the way they are doing things or that target audience will slip away nearly as fast as it came.

I’m no marketing guru by any means, so I would love to hear your thoughts on this…. let me know in the comments below!

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

11 Responses to “Can I Un-rave World Fame?”

RSS Feed for The Kanevian Blog Comments RSS Feed

Spammers usually get deleted from my friends list very quickly. Even someone who could be a good friend of mine. Spammers that are also beggers…even faster. Its an intresting topic to write about. I wonder why these people obsess over things like world fame.

There can be a fine line between asking and begging. I am no longer annoyed with either.
I used to blast quite a few vids, but I didn’t continually or consistently repeat the same blasts. In my opinion that is about where the line is between the two. I have never been fond of the raving system, but have found it necessary at times to blast or post on the forums for a few to get my wf up so I could reap the reward coins or the prize in the Crackerjack box. I rarely send anything now through either except for things that I feel are worth the rave or things I want my friends to see. I am becoming more selective. I do rave my friends most of the time. I don’t see too much that is not worth my time to make a click or two. I still do not favor the raving system, but it is pretty much what this game is based on (other than the social aspect) so I basically just go with the flow. The game is played by many unique individuals and what may be worth a rave to one person may not be the opinions of others. That is what makes the world go round, my friend. We have the right to choose whether we wish to rave or not and to choose who we want as our friends. The way I see it is if you are annoyed with any aspect of the game, there is usually a way around it. So basically, “Live and let live” “Love and let love”. Oh yea, and keep smilin’ 🙂

Kn I getz 4.3 raves plz for this cmmnt? I needz dem 4 Werld Fame! Roxorz!!!!111

Spammers don’t stay on my blast for long.

Hey guys, after you’re done reading this can you go to my pictures and rave them plz? just need 4 more. THANKS!

lmfao. good blog. 🙂

Good blog..It seems raves run the world as we speak :)But asking to view something and not begging is so much better,,If they click on your item and feel its worth a rave..most will give it.

Yep, does get on my goat a bit.
There is one particular member I have come close to removing from my friend list quite a few times with her constant blasting of “Can I have X more raves for this”, even left a sarcastic comment on one of the blasts once.
Only problem is, not only is she a member of the kmafia, but also has a pic of herself totting a gun as her avy, so am worried that I might wake up one morning with a horses head in bed beside me or even get a bullet in the head.

please please please rave all my media.raves gives me orgasms :o)

hey now! so this coomunity is a way for you to increase YOUR WORLD FAME!!!! congrats! you’ve now joined the rank and file of Kaneva whether you like it or not…
don’t worry fame is inconsequential!

I so agree with you on this. I am so tired of seeing in the blasts, can I get 4 more raves please from one person in particular. Everytime I’ve looked to see what she wants raved its nothing more than a screen shot of her and her friends in the mall or whatever. Needless to say I dont see anything worth raving and refuse to do so. I will, however, when sent a pm or kmail asking me to check out their video entry for a contest or something they designed, or a new community, go there and rave what they have requested. They actually did something by creating an item or community, etc that is worthy of a rave. If its a music video I only rave it if I decide to add it to my own music playlists. I myself dont even bother asking anyone to rave anything, especially youtube videos, Ive found that if I do blast them because I like them, and not for the rave, someone invariably raves my video, then goes and downloads the same video and asks and recieves all the raves. To earn my own raves I go to the forums and read 3 daily, I upload videos for all to see but never ask for raves and I try to stay awake long enough to get through 10 rounds of the dance game. It’s nice to be able to earn the extra rewards since kaneva decided to lower the rewards for party hour to such a minimal amount but I think things such as screen shots and videos anyone can upload themselve should be elimated from the mix. I would love to see raves given instead for something interesting like writing a blog, anything creative that involves a elbow grease and brainwork.

I love ur blogs there all so true.yeah i wont rave anything if i see it blasted.im sorry,im sick of all the blasts about rave this rave that ugh STOP.If i want to rave something ill rave it.But when i see blasts everyday from the same people.It just ticks me off.I thought this was a game,where u meet and hangout with new and old friends.Im not feeln its like that anymore.Its more of a whos “cool” and who u know game now.Who cares how many raves u get,ITS A GAME PEOPLE…Keep it real!!!Thanks for your blogs keep it up at least i know im not the only one that feels this way.YAY!!

I blast videos now and again, but they are vids that i have converted to an .avi format from youtube. I know people hate the fact that youtube videos eventually die. So I try to share what I do. But I agree with the continual begging, it gets old fast!! I know who suds is talking about and I don’t even look at her blasts much any longer. Great blog SFN. Much Love!


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

